The Trading Standards Institute

The Chartered Trading Standards Institute Consumer Code of Practice (the ‘Code’) exists to help members of the public to choose a professional, competent and ethical organisation to help them make a will, administer the affairs of someone after their death or provide specified related legal services.

What is the Consumer Codes Approval Scheme? The following text is from the Chartered Trading Standards Institute.

We know that as a consumer you want to have confidence in businesses from whom you buy goods or services.

The Consumer Codes Approval Scheme (CCAS) is facilitated self-regulation, which aims to provide you with access to approved codes which meet core criteria set by the Chartered Trading Standards Institute.

Codes approval is a rigorous and intensive two-stage process, and codes will be approved only if businesses can clearly show that they are contributing to improving service standards.

How would using an approved code member benefit me?

Businesses can display the Chartered Trading Standards Institute (CTSI) approved code logo only if they are an approved code member. When you see the CTSI approved code logo - you can have confidence that the code member can be trusted

Businesses will be audited and monitored to ensure they comply with the high standards set by their approved code of practice

By using an approved trader, you will have protection above and beyond your normal consumer law rights

The CCAS is committed to promoting codes of practice that meet our core criteria and have obtained CTSI approval.

Areas where you as a consumer will benefit from higher protection include:

• clear pre-contractual information
• deposit and pre-payment protection
• additional consumer protection for business conducted in the consumer's home
• clear complaints procedure
• Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

Comments are closed.